5 ideas to improve teaching as well as learning…..

I have been contemplating on how to improve my teaching as well as the learning that takes place in my classroom.  I feel that I have become somewhat stagnant in my processes over the past 20 years even though I try to change the projects developed and keep my teaching style current with trends.

My school consists of 800+ students in the 5th and 6th grades in which I split evenly with a team teacher.  At the end of last year we took a look at what we are teaching and decided to omit, re-fresh, and add new lesson plans to our repertoire.

  1. Implement more TAB lessons. (Teaching for Artist Behavior)

2. Create a service project; i.e. student-led teaching of art to a local nursing home community and/or pre-school. 

3. Develop digital portfolios for student assessment. 

4. Create interdisciplinary lesson plans. 

5. Utilize technology in an interactive format; i.e. blogging, interactive white board, virtual learning through YouTeacher or Skype.  

These are 5 ideas I have to improve teaching as well as learning in my classroom.

Can you share some of yours?

One thought on “5 ideas to improve teaching as well as learning…..

  1. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great. I don’t know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

Leave a Reply

