A quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dog……

Have you ever considered taking a sabbatical leave?  I have debated on taking a sabbatical a few times over the past 20 years of teaching.  I never could justify the need of leaving my post for a year.  Finally, in the spring of 2012 I decided it was time to embark on a leave of absence for educational purposes.  Although there were many reasons, both personal and professional, that helped me to make this decision,   it still was not an easy one.

Should I?  Shouldn’t I?   Can I put committee commitments on hold for a year?   Do I really need the time off?  Will I be able to occupy my time without becoming bored? How will being off affect my retirement income?  What are the credit requirements I have to uphold in order to get a sabbatical?  And, finally, but most importantly, can I really go back to school at my age? After completing all of the necessary research, filing out endless paperwork, and making inquiries with personnel the decision was made and the leave approved.

Now, jumping ahead 8 months I have to wonder, “What took me so long?”  Where has the time gone?   Why did I have so many questions about taking this time off?  This sabbatical has refreshed my body and mind, taught me how to relax, and given me knowledge in areas that I never thought I would be able to achieve.  I feel younger and stronger and more creative than I have in years.  I can blog, Skype, and “tweet” with the best of them.  And teaching in the 21st century is no longer intimidating, it is invigorating.

My advice for you, if you are so inclined, is to embrace a sabbatical and be kind to yourself.

One thought on “A quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dog……

  1. It does take courage to think about being dispensable when so much of what we do is a vital part of a school community. Congratulations on taking the leap and filling your time with new learning. I think as artists and educators we do need to fill the creative well regularly as so much of what we do involves others drawing on the well.

Leave a Reply

